Please click here to suggest a journalist for the public database.

Journalists

Journalists who are interested in following refugee/asylum seekers stories in either their part of the world or internationally

Algeria

Jamila Loukil , Liberté-Oran, loukiljamila@yahoo.fr ,  www.liberte-algerie.com

Naima Benouaret, El Watan,  nbenouaret@elwatan.com  or  nbenouaret@yahoo.fr ,  www.elwatan.com

Australia

Ben McLean, ABC NewsRadio, mclean.ben@abc.net.au

Gabrielle Dunlevy,   Australian Associated Press  ,  gdunlevy@aap.com.au

Greg Dyett,  ABC News , greg.dyett@sbs.com.au

Kate Coulthard, Freelance, kate.c.coulthard@gmail.com, +610439253531

Micheal Gordon,   The Age Newspaper ,  letters@theage.com.au

Nepal Times Australia ,  editor@nepalitimes.com.au

Nick Toscano, The Age Newspaper , n.toscano@fairfaxmedia.com.au

Sky News Australia ,  agenda@skynews.com.au

Bangladesh

 

Brazil

João Fellet, BBC Brazil, joao.fellet@bbc.co.uk

Juliana Tafur , Documentary Producer/Writer, juliana@orkideaproductions.com , www.orkideaproductions.com

Belgium

Francesca Spinelli, Freelance,  f.spinelli@internazionale.it

Bulgaria 

Francesco Martino, Osservatorio Balcani e Caucaso,  martino@balcanicaucaso.org

Cambodia 

Nathan A. Thompson, Freelance,  nat213@gmail.com,  http://www.nathanathompson.co.uk

Cameroon

Mbom Sixtus,  IPS Intern Press Service,  mbom6tus@gmail.com

Canada

Annie Burns-Pieper, GlobalNews,  annie.burns-pieper@bellmedia.ca

Carol Sanders, Winnipeg Free Press, carol.Sanders@freepress.mb.ca

Debra Black, Toronto Star,  dblack@thestar.ca

Hermie Garcia, The Philippine Reporter,  hermiegarcia4@gmail.com

Ines Colabrese, CBC Radio,  ines.colabrese@cbc.ca ,  www.cbc.ca/radio

Jeremy Nuttall, The Tyee,  jnuttall@thetyee.ca

Joe Friesen, Globe and Mail, JFriesen@globeandmail.com

Judi Rever, Freelance,  judirever@gmail.com  

Martin Patriquin, Maclean’s Magazine,  letters@macleans.ca   

Mitch Potter,  Toronto Star ,  mpotter@thestar.ca

Nicholas Keung, Toronto Star,  nkeung@thestar.ca

Sofia Grande, Chha 1610/Voces Latinas, sofia_grande@hotmail.com , +1 4167822953

China

Tom Hancock, AFP,  tom.hancock@afp.com

Congo (DRC)

Joseph Kafuka, Scandinavia Restore Hope, kafuka_2000@yahoo.fr

Ecuador 

Carolina Loza , Freelance,  loza.leon.carolina@gmail.com

Eritrea

Leonard Vincent, Freelance,  leonardvincent69@gmail.com

Europe Regional

William Spindler, UNHCR refugee spokesman,  spindler@unhcr.org

France

Elise Vincent, Le Monde,  elise.vincent@lemonde.fr 

Luisa Pace, Freelance photojournalist,  luisa.pace@gmail.com,  www.lavalledeitempli.net

Kait Bolongaro, Café Babel ,   kaitbolongaro@gmail.com    

Germany

Gina Bucher , Freelance, g.bucher@rokfor.ch

Michael Obert , Freelance, michael@obert.de  

Greece

Giorgos Moutafis, Freelance,   +30 6975201232

Hong Kong

Christy Choi,   South China Morning Post , christy.choi@scmp.com

Emily Rauhala , Time magazine, emily_rauhala@timeinc.com, www.time.com

Danny Lee,   South China Morning Post ,  danny.lee@scmp.com  

Joanna Chiu, South China Morning Post ,  chiu.joanna5@gmail.com

Joyce Man, Freelance,  joyce.h.man@gmail.com, www.joycehman.com

Natasha Khan, Bloomberg ,  nkhan51@bloomberg.net

Vaudine England, BBC, vaudine.england@bbc.co.uk,  www.bbc.co.uk

India

Adam Roberts, The Economist,  AdamRoberts@economist.com

Debraj Deb, The Northeast Today, debrajdb1989@gmail.com

Patralekha Chatterjee , Freelance,  patralekha.chatterjee@gmail.com

Shivam Vij, Freelance, shivamvij@gmail.com

Italy

Alessio Polveroni,   La repubblica , Alessio.Polveroni@hotmail.com

Anna Meli, Freelance, cartadiroma@gmail.com

Chiara Organtini,  L’Espresso ,  chiaraorgantini@hotmail.com

Eleonora Vio,  La Repubblica  ,  eleonora.vio@gmail.com

Elisabetta Povoledo,  New York Times ,  elisabetta.povoledo@gmail.com

Ilaria Sesana, Freelance, Avvenire, Jesus, Popoli,  ilaria.sesana@gmail.com

Lorenzo Bagnoli, Freelance,  Redatore Sociale , Il Fatto Quotidiano ,  lo.bagnoli@gmail.com

Stefano Pasta, Freelance, stefanopasta@gmail.com

Valeria Fraschetti,  La Repubblica ,  valeria.fraschetti@gmail.com

Japan

Kaori Kawazu,   Mainichi Newspaper , kawazu-k@mainichi.co.jp       

Katsuya Soda , Nanmin Now!, katsuya.soda@gmail.com, www.nanmin-now.seesaa.net   

K Iida,  Chunicih Newspaper, iida.k@chunichi.co.jp

Takahashi Eisuke,  NHK , takahashi.eisuke323@gmail.com

Takuro Iwahashi, Kyodo News, iwahashi.takuro@kydonews.jp

Tomohiro Osaki, Japan Times , tomohiro.osaki@japantimes.co.jp

Shin Hara,  Kyodo News , hara.shin@kyodonews.jp       

Kazakhstan

Bruce Pannier, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty , pannierb@rfel.org

Kenya

Jeffrey Gettleman, New York Times,  jg@nytimes.com,  www.nytimes.com  

Qaabata Boru, Freelance,  qaabata007@yahoo.com

Kyrgyzstan

Bruce Pannier,  Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty , pannierb@rfel.org

Lebanon

Tariq Saleh, BBC World Service,  teko.saleh@gmail.com

The Legal Agenda ,  englishinfo@legal-agenda.com, +9611383606

Malaysia

Assim Hassan,   Utusan Malaysia , utusan_kk@yahoo.com

Avila Samuel,   New Straits Times ,  avila.samuel@hotmail.com

Charles Ramendran,  The Sun Daily , newsdesk@thesundaily.com

Nashir Bah,  Bernama , nashir_bah@yahoo.com  or editorsb@bernama.com

Jason Santos, Daily Express, santos.robusta@gmail.com

Jimmy Goh,  Daily Express ,  sph_dailyexpress@yahoo.com

Jong Zhung,   See Hua , nobita_jong1989@hotmail.com

Julia Chan,   The Malay Mail Online , juliachan@themalaymailonline.com

Samuel Tan,   Sin Chew , tzeeleong@yahoo.com

Sandra Sokial,  The Rakyat Post , sandra.s@therakyatpost.com

Shaila Koshy, The Star Online,  koshy@thestar.com.my,  www.thestar.com.my 

Sherell Jeffrey,   Daily Express ,  Shell_jeffrey@yahoo.com

Rashvinjeet S. Bedi, The Star Online,  rashvin@thestar.com.my,  www.thestar.com.my

Ruzaini Zulkifli,  Utusan Borneo , Ruzainiub@gmail.com

Willie Jude Junaidi,   Berita Harian , wjudeub@gmail.com

Mali

Idrissa Sako, Les Echos, idisac2002@yahoo.fr, www.lesechos.ml

Malta

Matthew Vella, Malta Today,  mvella@mediatoday.com.mt

Raphael Vassallo, Malta Today,  rvassallo@mediatoday.com.mt

Mauritania

Ibou Badiane, RimWeb, ibbadiane@yahoo.fr,  www.rimweb.net

Mohamed Ag Ahmedou, Freelance, badacha2010_ag@yahoo.fr or alyadagtenere@gmail.com

Cheikh Oumar Ndiaye, L’Authentique, maitre.ndiaye1@gmail.com,  www.lauthentic.info

Mexico

Laura Saunders, Freelance, lsaunderse@gmail.com

Mica Rosenberg,  Reuters , mica.rosenberg@thomsonreuters.com 

Middle-East

Bram Janssen, AP,  info@ap.org

Sebastian Castelier, Freelance, www.sebastian-castelier.com

Tanya Habjouqa, Photojournalist, +972547186619 

Wilson Fache, Al-Monitor, +12028080700

Zeina Khodr, Al-Jazeera, ajam.press@aljazeera.net

Morocco

Hassan Bentaleb, Liberation,  hassanbentaleb@libe.ma,  www.libe.ma

Myanmar

Ingyin Naing, Freelance, ingjinnaing@gmail.com 

Sophie Ansel , Freelance, anselsophie@gmail.com,  www.lunesbirmanes.com

New Zealand

Lincoln Tran,  The New Zealand Herald , Lincoln.Tan@nzherald.co.nz

Matt Stewart,  The Dominion Post , matt.stewart@dompost.govt.nz

Tracey Barnett, Freelance,  contact@traceybarnett.co.nz

Netherlands

Yarno Ritzen, Al Jazeera English, info@yarnoritzen.com

Nigeria

Samuel Orovwuje, Freelance, orovwuje@yahoo.com, +2348034745325

Pakistan

Shabbir Mir, Freelance,  shabbirmir@gmail.com  

Zeeshan Adhi , The Nation, zeeshanadhi@gmail.com,   www.nation.com.pk

Qatar

Teresa Krug , Al Jazeera, teresa.krug@gmail.com ,  www.aljazeera.com

Reuters (Global)

Deborah Charles, Reuters, deborah.charles@reuters.com

Romania

Raluca Maxim, Lawyr.it, ralucaamaxim@gmail.com,  www.lawyr.it

Russia

Andrey Kirsanow, Rossija Segodnya, a.kirsanow@rian.ru

Senegal

Awa Diedhiou, West Africa Democracy Radio, diedhiounaliste@gmail.com ,  www.wadr.org  

Jacques Ngor Sarr, Le Populaire, jakosar30@yahoo.fr  

Joe Marone, Radio Futurs Médias, joemaronej@gmail.com

Omar Victor Diop, Photographer, info@magnin-a.com

Slovenia

Uroš Škerl Kramberger,  Dnevnik ,  uros.skerl@dnevnik.si

South Africa

Kristy Siegfried, IRIN News, Kristy@irinnews.org

South Korea

Kim Han Sol,   Kyunghyang Daily  , hansol@khan.kr 

Park Hyun Jung, Hankyoreh 21,  saram@hani.co.kr, www.h21.hani.co.kr

Steven Borowiec, Hankyoreh, Wall Street Journal,  steveriborowiec@gmail.com  or  www.english.hani.co.kr , www.wsj.com

Spain

Elena Isabel Montero Cubillo,  elenadejmontero@gmail.com,   www.cablemeltv.es

Jesus Blasco de Avellaneda, Freelance,  blascodeavellaneda@gmail.com

Jorge Garret, Freelance, jgarretlozano@gmail.com

Sudan

Leonard Vincent, Freelance, leonardvincent69@gmail.com

Sweden

Britta Abotsi , Artikel 14,  brittaabotsi@gmail.com  or  artikel14@farr.se ,  www.farr.se/   www.artikel14.se

Joseph Kafuka, Scandinavia Restore Hope, kafuka_2000@yahoo.fr

Meron Estefanos, Radio Erena,  meron.estefanos@gmail.com

Switzerland

Alberto Campi, Freelance Photojournalist, info@albertocampiphoto.com ,  www.albertocampiphoto.com

Gina Bucher , Freelance, g.bucher@rokfor.ch

Nina Larson, AFP, general AFP email address  afp@afp.com

Tajikistan

Bruce Pannier,  Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty , pannierb@rfel.org

Thailand

Aela Callan , Al Jazeera, aelacallan@gmail.com,  www.aelacallan.com www.aljazeera.com

Alan Morison, alan@phuketwan.com, phukewan.com

Annie Phrommayon, BBC, annie.phrommayon@bbc.co.uk,  www.bbc.co.uk

Chutima Sidasathian, chutima.post@gmail.com, phukewan.com

Daily News  ,  editor@dailynews.co.th

Dana MacLean, IRIN, dana.savannah@gmail.com,  www.irinnews.org

Daniel Schearf, VOA, dschearf@voanews.com,  www.voanews.com

Kitty McKinsey, UNHCR, mckinsey@unchr.org,  www.unhcr.org.uk

Krungthep Thurakij, Freelance,  ktfor@nationgroup.com

Lance Woodruff, Freelance, Indochina Network, lance.woodruff@gmail.com

Maher Sattar,   Al Jazeera mahersattar.wordpress.com mahersattar.tumblr.com

National Geographic Magazine ,  ngmth@amarin.co.th

Naew Na, Freelance,  content@naewna.com

Nha-Kran Loahavilai,  Post Today ,  nhakran@posttoday.com

Nirmal Gosh , The Straits Times, karmanomad@gmail.com,  www.straitstimes.com

Thin Lei Win, Thomson Reuters Foundation,  thin.leiwin@thomsonreuters.com  

Ron Corben , Freelance, corbenr@bkk.loxinfo.co.th  

Saritdet Marukatat,   The Bangkok Post ,  saritdetm@bangkokpost.co.th

Sean Kimmons, IRIN ,  kimmons5@yahoo.com

Vivian Tan, UNHCR ,  tanv@unhcr.org

Waranya Pimsri,  ASEAN TV/MCOT Global , waranya.pimsri@gmail.com

Tunisia

Abdellatif Garrouri, Télévision Nationale-Tunis,  wahid_abdelah@yahoo.fr, www.watania1.tn

Isabelle Merminod, Photojournalist,  isabelle@isabellemerminod.com

Sana Sbouai, Nawaat, sana@nawaat.org, www.nawaat.org

Stéphanie Wenger, La Tribune de Genévé,  stephwenger@gmail.com  

Tim Baster, New International Equal Times,  tbaster@hotmail.co.uk

Turkey

Alexi Noelle, TRT World, alexinoelle.hosein@trtworld.com

Emre Peker, Wall Street Journal , emre.peker@wsj.com     

Turkemistan

Bruce Pannier, Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty , pannierb@rfel.org   

Ukraine

Joel van Houdt, Photojournalist, joelvanhoudt@gmail.com , +31628977394

Maksym Butkevich,  butkevych@gmail.com

Uganda

Otim Patrick, Freelance, otimpat2000@yahoo.com

United Kingdom

Adrian Alvarez, Photojournalist, adalva.cueto@gmail.com , +447821912700

Afua Hirsch,  Sky News ,  afua.hirsch@theguardian.com  or  afua.hirsch@sky.com

Anthony Loyd, The Times,  anthonyloyd@googlemail.com

Ben Allen , BBC Global News,  ben.allen@bbc.co.uk

Emma Batha,  Thomson Reuters Foundation , emma.batha@thomsonreuters.com

Ghaith Abdul-Ahad, The Guardian, ghaith.abdul-ahad@guardian.co.uk

Jeremy Page,  Wall Street Journal ,  jeremy.page@wsj.com

Jonathan Owen, The Independent, newseditor@independent.co.uk

Juliana Ruhfus,  Al Jazeera English ,  Juliana.Ruhfus@aljazeera.net

Magdy Samaan, Daily Telegraph,  magdysamaan@gmail.com

Mark Tran , The Guardian. mark.tran@guardian.co.uk ,  www.guardian.co.uk

Maria Assaf, Freelancer , majuassaf@gmail.com

Matt Broomfield, The Independent, newseditor@independent.co.uk

Meave Shearlaw , The Guardian,  www.guardian.co.uk ,  maeve.shearlaw@guardian.co.uk

Peter Walker, The Guardian, peter.walker@guardian.co.uk

United States

Ann Garrison, Freelance,  anniegarrison@gmail.com ,   www.anngarrison.com

Evelynn Brown, Freelance, WhistleWatch, ebrown@whistlewatch.org ,  www.whistlewatch.org

Laura Saunders, Freelance, lsaunderse@gmail.com

Luke Mogelson, Freelance,  luke.mogelson@gmail.com

Sean Kimmons  , IRIN, kimmons5@yahoo.com ,  www.irinnews.org

Sonia Smith, Freelance, sonia.smith@gmail.com

Tabitha McDuffee, Freelance, tabitha.mcduffee@gmail.com

Linda Valdez, Columnist/Editorial Writer, The Arizona Republic, Linda.Valdez@ArizonaRepublic.comazcentral.com

Uzbekistan

Bruce Pannier,  Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty , pannierb@rfel.org